Fun Down the Slopes on a Budget

Sledding in Silverthorne, courtesy of FlickrCC 94246031@ N00/5265193150.

Sledding in Silverthorne, courtesy of FlickrCC 94246031@ N00/5265193150.

CNN may have 12 Fun Ways to Hit the Slopes Without Skis, but after reading the article, I thought not many people can afford the options they mention. What planet are they living on? Here’s my version of How to Have Fun on the Slopes Without Skis:

*Caution – Following these suggestions may cause harm – Do them at your own risk.

A Unique Ride Down the Hill

Sure you could use an average plastic sled or wooden toboggan, but I’m talking real fun.  Wait until dark and take out a glow-in-the-dark blow up chair.  Visually, the streaks of luminous plastic look cool and the plastic slides well in the snow.  It’s been twelve years since my family did this together and they still talk about what a great time it was.

 No Snow? No Problem!

Do what many kids have done over the years. Take a large cylindrical garbage can (clean and disinfected, please) and place yourself in the can and roll. You may never see straight again after spinning so fast.

 No Sled…No Toboggan?

Use items found every day in your household to ride down those snowy hills. Over the years of desperate times, kids in the neighborhood have used and perfected the following:

Riding on plastic bags, cardboard, the lids of large Rubbermaid totes, blow-up pool rafts, plastic tarps, metal garbage lids, and more. Just use your imagination and you’ll be surprised at how many items you can find to glide down a hill with ease.

Now I’ve only come up with 8 ways to have fun down a slope and you don’t have to empty your wallet doing so. If you can think of any others, please let me know so I can add them to the list.

About thewritegirlforthejob

During college, I began my writing career as a reporter for a newspaper. After graduating with honors in 2004, I continued my journalism and public relations education at Barry University and Empire State College(graduating with a BA). As a freelance writer, I have over 100+ published works and have had the honor of authoring the commissioned book, History Restored. Since starting my writing career, I've edited more books for authors rather than complete my own - since work comes first before I have the pleasure to write. I've been very lucky to be given the gift of having a very supportive family that has allowed me to share my passion of creating and writing and can already see my youngest wanting a page of her own soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun Down the Slopes on a Budget

  1. Pingback: How to Embrace a Lingering Winter | Thewritegirlforthejob's Blog

Leave a Reply

