Resolutions…Do They Work?

Resolve image courtesy of lookingforalana at Flickr 8336160056.

Resolve image courtesy of lookingforalana at Flickr 8336160056.

Now into the second week of January, I notice many of the people that had made a laundry list of resolutions are already faltering in their convictions.

This seems to be a common pattern year after year.  If true, why do we even make such official resolutions – only to fail? One would think it would be even more self-defeating.

No New Year Resolutions

I think I’ve found the resolution that can solve the problem. Instead of looking to a date to begin eating healthier, being more patient, sticking to a work out regime or other positive efforts, we need to make a conscious choice to begin the day we recognize the problem or lack of action.

Waiting until a certain date or a day of the week to begin allows people a grace period of continuing their bad habits or behaviors.  Take responsibility right away and accept the idea you may falter and begin again.

Life is too short to wait for a certain date for your life to get better. Embrace mistakes, do something about them and keep trying.

About thewritegirlforthejob

During college, I began my writing career as a reporter for a newspaper. After graduating with honors in 2004, I continued my journalism and public relations education at Barry University and Empire State College(graduating with a BA). As a freelance writer, I have over 100+ published works and have had the honor of authoring the commissioned book, History Restored. Since starting my writing career, I've edited more books for authors rather than complete my own - since work comes first before I have the pleasure to write. I've been very lucky to be given the gift of having a very supportive family that has allowed me to share my passion of creating and writing and can already see my youngest wanting a page of her own soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolutions…Do They Work?

  1. Haha I had a similar post about new year’s resolutions. We can make them at any time, why wait? It sometimes just leads to extra guilt as well. Embracing the power of choice in the moment, no matter what time of year that moment is happening, will always be a great thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

