10 Unconventional Zucchini Recipes

With the squash season in full swing, zucchini growers are surely being bombarded by the overgrowth of these mammoth green vegetables.

Trade your pepperoni for zucchini on a pizza and save hundreds of calories. Pizza photo courtesy of FlickrCC

The abundance allows for consumers to buy them at pennies per pound and they can be used in virtually every course of a meal.

Better yet, they can be disguised in recipes where no one is the wiser because zucchini mimics so many other flavors.

Zucchini Crisp (Tastes exactly like apple crisp)

1 Large zucchini (approximately 7 ½ -9 cups sliced)

2/3 cup lemon juice concentrate

¾ – 1 cup of sugar (depending upon how sweet you like it)

1-2 tbsp. cornstarch

1 tsp. cinnamon

½ tsp. nutmeg

Crust:

1 cup Flour

¾ cup white granulated sugar

¼ cup brown sugar

½ Teaspoon cinnamon

2 Sticks of butter or margarine

1)      After washing the zucchini, peel the green skin off.  Cut off the stem and bottom end. Slice length-wise and cut out the seed center and discard.  Slice thin pieces in the same size and thickness as you would for apple slices in a crisp or pie.

2)      Place slices in a large pot or skillet and pour the lemon juice, sugar and spices over zucchini and mix well. Simmer for 10-14 min., or until slices are tender. Add the cornstarch to slices, stir well to prevent lumps and simmer until thickened.

3)      While slices are cooling, mix the dry crust ingredients in a bowl. Add the sticks of butter with a fork, working into the dry, making a well-mixed crumble consistency.

4)      Take half of the crumbs and spread at the bottom of a baking pan (approx. 11” x 9”). Press down the crumbs with a spoon, until the bottom is completely covered, forming a crust. Bake 8-10 minutes at 350 degrees until the crust is slightly turning brown.

5)      Spread the zucchini mixture over the crust and add the rest of crumbs on top. Bake 35 minutes at 350 degrees.

For a lighter version, make half of the crust and add it only to the top of the slices and bake.

Mock Pineapple Using Zucchini

Zucchini Salsa

Zucchini Brownies

Zucchini Raspberry Cupcakes

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cookies

Mexican Zucchini

Chocolate Zucchini Smoothie

Zucchini Chips

Zucchini Gummies

About thewritegirlforthejob

During college, I began my writing career as a reporter for a newspaper. After graduating with honors in 2004, I continued my journalism and public relations education at Barry University and Empire State College(graduating with a BA). As a freelance writer, I have over 100+ published works and have had the honor of authoring the commissioned book, History Restored. Since starting my writing career, I've edited more books for authors rather than complete my own - since work comes first before I have the pleasure to write. I've been very lucky to be given the gift of having a very supportive family that has allowed me to share my passion of creating and writing and can already see my youngest wanting a page of her own soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 Unconventional Zucchini Recipes

  1. Becca Krzmarzick says:

    I have a TON of zucchini, so I think this post will really come in handy 🙂

    • When I started a garden a few years ago, I had so much zucchini I would make regular drops offs to friends and food pantries. That’s what motivated me to find other recipes that were unusual. Now, I still give zucchini away, but attach recipes so people can enjoy them more. I’m glad I could help give variety in your cooking ventures.

Leave a Reply

