A Dying Art of Communication: Handwriting

Love letter to Clara Ford

Love letter to Clara Ford (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nowadays, we may be still writing letters, but a good percentage of them are done on electronic devices. It hadn’t really occurred to me until I received an 8-page handwritten letter and realized how much more personable it felt to read it.

Having an emotional response to words written in ink, I felt compelled to return the gesture.

Not an Easy Feat

As I began to write, I realized how out of practice I was at using a pen and paper. My cursive was entirely sloppy, and found it took a great deal of care to write legibly.  My hand began to cramp because of muscles that weren’t accustom to the action.  I thought, if I’m like this, there must be many others in the same boat.

With this disturbing revelation, I realized that handwriting was becoming a dying art of communication.

The Cost of Technology

There are great benefits in having the ability to email, text, and call anywhere. Just by grabbing a small device from our pockets, we’re able to have instant access to anyone. Yet, our dependence upon such devices has made many of us weaker communicators in personal print.

Emoticons Fall Short

When we write by hand, there are nuances that reveal our emotions. We don’t have to be a handwriting expert to know when someone is happy or mad.  Those little smiley or quirky face icons just don’t cut it compared to the slants, loops, corrections and strokes that can be represented in ink.

What Will the Future Hold?

With a keyboard-filled world, will our children understand the importance of handwriting? Will our future generations know how read a cursive letter? With some schools deciding to discontinue teaching cursive in lieu of keyboard lessons, this could be the question.

Surprise someone. Send them a snail mail handwritten letter. They’ll appreciate the extra effort and possibly send you one back.  The effect will be priceless.

About thewritegirlforthejob

During college, I began my writing career as a reporter for a newspaper. After graduating with honors in 2004, I continued my journalism and public relations education at Barry University and Empire State College(graduating with a BA). As a freelance writer, I have over 100+ published works and have had the honor of authoring the commissioned book, History Restored. Since starting my writing career, I've edited more books for authors rather than complete my own - since work comes first before I have the pleasure to write. I've been very lucky to be given the gift of having a very supportive family that has allowed me to share my passion of creating and writing and can already see my youngest wanting a page of her own soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Dying Art of Communication: Handwriting

  1. mahakhan97 says:

    Reblogged this on reflections and commented:
    my thoughts !

  2. Pingback: A paper without ink | @Technolgy Talk

  3. Kittia says:

    Thank you for this post! I agree that handwriting is a lost art and it saddens me. My generation only knows how to communicate via technology and we are only progressing (regressing?) further and further into technology’s grasp.
    P.s. I wrote and rewrote this paragraph– something I could never do with paper and a pen.

Leave a Reply

